The government of the state of New Jersey is separated into three distinct branches, executive, legislative and judicial. Members of the New Jersey legislature are chosen from 40 legislative districts around the state. Each legislative district elects one senator and two Assembly members. 

Elections for state offices are held in odd years. Assembly terms are two years. The terms for the governor and the Senate are four years except for the term that follows redistricting when the Senate terms are two years. 

Click here to find your elected officials.


Executive Branch

Governor Phil Murphy, a Democrat, was elected on November 7, 2017 and was sworn into office on January 16, 2018.

Lieutenant Governor Sheila Y. Oliver is the second highest ranking official in state government. She was elected on November 7, 2017 and was sworn into office on January 16, 2018.

Legislative Branch

The 219th New Jersey Legislature met for the first time on January 14, 2020, when the 80 members of the General Assembly and 40 members of the Senate were sworn into office.

Democrats control the Assembly by a margin of 52-28. Democrats control the State Senate by a margin of 25-15.  


Senate Democratic Leadership

Senate President Stephen M. Sweeney (District 3)

Majority Leader Loretta Weinberg (District 37)

Senate Republican Leadership

Republican Leader Thomas H. Kean Jr. (District 21)

Assembly Democratic Leadership

Assembly Speaker Craig J. Coughlin (District 19)

Majority Leader Louis D. Greenwald (District 6)

Assembly Republican Leadership

Republican Leader Jon M. Bramnick (District 21)